Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content


The school was opened in January 1964 with an enrolment of 209 students in Years Eight and Nine. Mr. JD Cassidy was the first Principal with a staff of nine teachers. Two buildings, 100 and 400 blocks, were constructed but furniture and tools for woodwork were borrowed. Toilets were of the outdoor variety and there was no school tuckshop for the first four years. The school was opened by Hon. R E Camm MLA, Minister for Mines and main Roads on 23rd September, 1967. In several stages, from 1966 until 2003, the present school buildings were gradually added. The school now boasts a First Year Centre, Modern Art, Music, Home Economics and Manual Arts blocks, Community Hall, Performing Arts Block and a twenty-five metre swimming pool.
The school has a consistently well populated student body and has recently peaked at over 1400 students as well as over 130 staff members. Mackay North enjoys a friendly, positive relationship with community of Mackay and school morale is high owing to the good rapport between students and staff.